Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Newbie Navy Nuc Program Questions (DEP) honeypot

Author Topic: Newbie Navy Nuc Program Questions (DEP)  (Read 82644 times)

jeepgirl1

Newbie Navy Nuc Program Questions (DEP)
« on: Jun 06, 2004, 07:41 »
Hi y'all,
First off, I want to apologize for asking about a topic that has probably been beat to death in this forum .... but please bear with me  ;)

Okay, I'm a recent college graduate who has decided to enlist in the services.  I'm either going Army or Navy.  Basically, I'll go Army if I don't get into the Navy Nuc program.  I've talked to a recruiter on the phone and he was raving about the program and such, but I won't be able to talk to an advanced programs director until tomorrow so I'm left with some questions. 

1. What is the application process and how long does it normally take?  I took the ASVAB last summer (99) and the recruiter guy said that I probably wouldn't have to take the secondary test. 

2. Speaking of the secondary test, what exactly is the test subject matter?  Is there a book or website I could look at to "refreshify" my memory?

3.  I know that I'll qualify for a bonus for being a college graduate as well as one for the nuc program ... but I'm also in need of the LRP.  Will I have to pick one of the three or will I be able to get them all?

4. I've read online about the CASH program ... is it competitive or is it given to you as long as you meet the qualifications?  What are the qualifications?

5. As far as women nucs, are there a lot in the service?

6. I read online that there was a shortage of housing for the single soldiers, leading to many being forced to live on the ship when it is in dock ... is this true?