Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu bwr hydrogen add honeypot

Author Topic: bwr hydrogen add  (Read 17713 times)

wlrun3@aol.com

bwr hydrogen add
« on: Mar 30, 2007, 09:57 »

...do all bwr's add hydrogen for corrosion control...how does zinc injection work...how does noble metal injection work...what are the electron capture isotopes responsible for "electron capture areas" and how are these isotopes produced...

Offline retired nuke

• Family Man
  • Very Heavy User
  • No longer a nuke
Re: bwr hydrogen add
« Reply #1 on: Mar 30, 2007, 11:33 »
Not being a chemist, I really don't understand all that stuff. ???

But I do know that since VY started H2 inj, and now zinc, our dose rates are up in primary systems. And everytime we have H2 trip, we have a nice crud burst.....hot spots everywhere....20 R/hr RWCU HX and stuff.... :(

I know it's supposed to help the long term reliability of the plant, but as an HP tech, I'm not a big fan right now.

Remember who you love. Remember what is sacred. Remember what is true.
Remember that you will die, and that this day is a gift. Remember how you wish to live, may the blessing of the Lord be with you

wlrun3@aol.com

« Reply #2 on: Mar 30, 2007, 11:47 »
Not being a chemist, I really don't understand all that stuff. ???

But I do know that since VY started H2 inj, and now zinc, our dose rates are up in primary systems. And everytime we have H2 trip, we have a nice crud burst.....hot spots everywhere....20 R/hr RWCU HX and stuff.... :(

I know it's supposed to help the long term reliability of the plant, but as an HP tech, I'm not a big fan right now.

...do you post electron capture areas...peach bottom and limerick do...frisker efficiency less then five percent for electron capture isotopes...

Rad Sponge

« Reply #3 on: Mar 30, 2007, 12:02 »
We are (PWR) about to start zinc injection on both units. Got the pieces parts installed.