Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Options for Officers w/ B.S. Nuke-E  

Author Topic: Options for Officers w/ B.S. Nuke-E  (Read 6076 times)

csernmi

Options for Officers w/ B.S. Nuke-E
« on: Apr 16, 2007, 05:57 »
I read a few posts down the line somewhat related to this one, but I had a few other questions:
      I'm a LT currently serving at NPTU Ballston Spa. I've done a tour as a Shift Engineer and a short stint as the Operations Officer. Currently, I'm working for the Senior Evaluation Officer. I'll be rotating out of the Navy in May 2008 and I hold a bachelor's degree in Nuclear Engineering from Purdue University. I've been looking into various project management jobs with non-nuclear companies, but I feel that it would be a shame to let my 13+ years of nuclear education / experience go to waste. I don't have a lot of knowledge in what jobs I would be best suited for, salaries to expect, or how to go about searching and applying.
       I have some contacts in the field that have told me to look into SRO jobs. Are their any other opportunities out there besides SRO which can use my skill set? What kind of a pay cut / pay raise should I expect (I currently make ~80k before taxes). Lastly, some other folks have posted here that I should wait until I'm 6 mos. from getting out to start looking for jobs. Most of my contacts within Excelon, FPL, and the like have told me to start much sooner. Any advice? Your help is greatly appreciated.

Offline tr

• Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: Options for Officers w/ B.S. Nuke-E
« Reply #1 on: Apr 16, 2007, 09:05 »