Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Sub pay question

Author Topic: Sub pay question  (Read 7418 times)

Offline bbksv

• Light User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Sub pay question
« on: Nov 06, 2007, 12:21 »
I am an Officer Candidate currently going to Illinois Tech and looking to get picked up for Sub/Nuke...and I was looking at sub pay and wanted to make sure...it does go by years of service and not years of sub service correct? I was a conventional ETC before getting picked up for STA-21 and I will have about 12 years in when I get my commission...and it looks like I would get sub pay for 12 years O-1...right??

emnuke

Re: Sub pay question
« Reply #1 on: Nov 06, 2007, 01:09 »
That's correctamundo. Sub pay goes by years of accrued service, whereas sea pay goes by years of sea duty only

ddklbl

« Reply #2 on: Nov 06, 2007, 01:27 »
It's been a while, but SubPay isn't awarded until you are assigned to a boat retroactive to the day you started "advanced training" required for the submarine service.  So, the day you get orders to a boat you'll get paid back to NPS.

jra79

« Reply #3 on: Nov 07, 2007, 01:46 »
Your sub pay should begin the day that you start NPS.

Offline bbksv

• Light User
« Reply #4 on: Nov 13, 2007, 04:06 »
Thanks for the info guys  :) We will see soon enough if I get in..I have my interviews on Feb 5th...wish me luck

Kev3399

« Reply #5 on: Nov 13, 2007, 10:37 »
We will see soon enough if I get in..I have my interviews on Feb 5th...wish me luck

Don't worry. I think the only way ADM Donald will say no to you is if you forget your uniform and show up to his office wearing flip flops and declare that you're ready to split atoms.  :)