Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu SRO Certification vs License honeypot

Author Topic: SRO Certification vs License  (Read 73896 times)

subshooter

SRO Certification vs License
« on: Nov 30, 2007, 10:29 »
What is the motivation that a company would have in offering a new hire an Instant SRO training program leading to a SRO certification vice a full NRC license?  I understand that the company certifies SROs and the NRC licenses and therefore a certification does not allow the individual to operate a plant.  I also understand that some companies desire that some employees establish a foundation in the operations side of the plant in preparation for follow on positions (such as instructors).  Please correct me if I have a misconception here.

I am in early discussions with two companies for executive level positions and both are talking to me about obtaining a certification and then moving into a management position within the company.

Since I am new to the commercial business, I am suspicious (or perhaps just ignorant) as to the motivation of the company executives that I am dealing with.  Any insight into the senior management perspective would be appreciated.  I have looked at bios of VPs and many only had certifications vice full licenses or perhaps they just let the licenses expire or the license decays into a certification if not maintained – I really have no idea.

Any thoughts?

JohnK87

Re: SRO Certification vs License
« Reply #1 on: Nov 30, 2007, 01:09 »
The NRC does not like licensees to have "recreational" licenses.  If you get an SRO, you're expected to be in a job that uses it.