Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Experience Vs. Education honeypot

Poll

Scenario :  You are responsible for picking the techs that will be working for you this outage.  You have one slot left to fill & three resumes to choose from.  You would choose :

BS degree plus 3 months tech time.
4 (6%)
4 years decon time plus 3 months tech time.
40 (59.7%)
Navy ELT plus 3 months commercial time.
23 (34.3%)

Total Members Voted: 18

Author Topic: Experience Vs. Education  (Read 31869 times)

Chimera

Re: Experience Vs. Education
« Reply #25 on: Mar 29, 2004, 08:16 »
Based on my own experiences over the years, and assuming the qualifications of the three individuals were verified to be accurate, I would hire the ex-deconner every time.  I am an ex-Navy nuc, also, but I vividly remember my first exposure to commercial nuclear power . . . an experience I've seen mirrored by many new ex-Navy nuc's  starting out in the commercial industry.  While I have my degree also, I'm aware that the degree just means I have a lot of theoretical knowledge with little to no practical experience.  I've been a road tech, a house tech, worked in both commercial and government programs, and I've trained techs along the way.  Based on over 30 years of experience, I would hire the (legitimate) ex-deconner every time.

But that's just my opinion . . .

shehane

« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2004, 12:24 »
experience equals education!

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User
  • "How Many Things I Have No Need Of" - Socrates
« Reply #27 on: Jul 29, 2004, 12:54 »
experience equals education!

Yeah, Don, but does education equal experience?
We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! I can’t think what anybody sees in them.      - B. Baggins

DainJer

« Reply #28 on: Jul 29, 2004, 09:18 »
Not necessarily from the nuke side,