Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu fire brigade and operators honeypot

Author Topic: fire brigade and operators  (Read 25255 times)

AyresRT2020

fire brigade and operators
« on: Dec 18, 2007, 10:50 »
I was wondering what plant's that have operators that allows them not to qualify fie brigade? I just got then lost a ANAO position due to a medicall condition not allowing me to qualify for the fire brigade.

Offline hplynn

• Very Lite User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: fire brigade and operators
« Reply #1 on: Dec 18, 2007, 01:41 »
I know that Sequoyah (TVA) and Palo Verde have their own "fire departments" therefore operators don't have to be fire brigade qualified. Other than that, I don't know, but when you read the various job postings from different plants, most will indicate if you need to be fire brigade qualified. That should clue you in.

I have been an operator at Crystal River, ANO and Kewaunee and all three required operators to be on the fire brigade.

Offline TENN-1

• Moderate User
  • Finished the 5 year plan in only 34!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 18, 2007, 01:44 »
AEP's D.C. Cook station does not qualify their Operators for fire brigade, however, they do have to qualify for operating the plant under Appendix R regs and other EP conditions. If your issue is with a respirator then this may not be what you need.
Things come to those who wait, but usually it's stuff left over from those who hustle!

AyresRT2020

« Reply #3 on: Dec 18, 2007, 04:40 »
It's not a respirator problem, I qualified for one at my last job. It is a problem with being on coumadin (anticoagulant i.e. blood thinners) I was disqualified fire brigade per NFPA 1582 standard. Thanks for the help so far.

Offline Nuclear NASCAR

• Electrician
  • Forum Administrator
  • Everyone needs a Harley. Mine's furry with 4 legs.
« Reply #4 on: Dec 18, 2007, 06:57 »