Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NRC Reactor Licensing
honeypot

Author Topic: NRC Reactor Licensing  (Read 12264 times)

Offline Gamecock

• Gold Member
  • "Perfection is the enemy of good enough."
NRC Reactor Licensing
« on: Feb 03, 2008, 07:22 »
I am a graduate student at MIT.

I am starting work on a thesis that will investigate the possibility of placing a nuclear reactor on a commercial cruise ship or even a commercial tanker ship. I am trying to figure out what would be the licensing process for such a ship, since there has only ever been one commercial nuclear powered ship (USS Savannah which was licensed by DOE as a concept ship).

Can anyone refer me to someone in the organization who may be able to assist me?
« Last Edit: Feb 03, 2008, 04:17 by Gamecock »
“If the thought police come... we will meet them at the door, respectfully, unflinchingly, willing to die... holding a copy of the sacred Scriptures in one hand and the US Constitution in the other."

ddklbl

Re: NRC Reactor Licensing
« Reply #1 on: Feb 03, 2008, 11:43 »
I am graduate student at MIT.

I am starting work on a thesis that will investigate the possibility of placing a nuclear reactor on a commercial cruise ship or even a commercial tanker ship. I am trying to figure out what would be the licensing process for such a ship, since there has only ever been one commercial nuclear powered ship (USS Savannah which was licensed by DOE as a concept ship).

Can anyone refer me to someone in the organization who may be able to assist me?

I know that USC, gamecocks not trojans, has a graduate course in Licensing/Regulation, EMCH 561.  I don't know what the course details are, but it might be worth seeing if anyone you might know still can hook you up with a syllabus.

Offline Gamecock

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: Feb 03, 2008, 04:21 »