Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Older Plants

Author Topic: Older Plants  (Read 11305 times)

Jacob Goodman

Older Plants
« on: Apr 25, 2008, 09:41 »
Hey guys,

I am a student at the University of Texas and I am studying United States Nuclear Power Plants for research in my scientific field. I was wondering if someone can answer this question: What were the fates of the Oldest US nuclear power plants?  If someone could get back to me as soon as possible I would really appreciate it.  Thanks.

Fermi2

Re: Older Plants
« Reply #1 on: Apr 25, 2008, 11:54 »
I would think a top notch student like yourself would be able to pose a question with greater clarity.

An example would be to Define the term older plant...

Mike

Offline Already Gone

• Curmudgeon At Large
  • Very Heavy User
  • Did I say that out loud?
« Reply #2 on: Apr 25, 2008, 12:48 »
Yeah, I agree with BZ.  The "newest" nuclear plant in America is over 20 years old.  So, "Older" is anything over 30? 40? What??

Some didn't make it that far.  TMI-2 only lasted about 90 days.  Shoreham never made a nickel's worth of electricity that it could sell.  Nine Mile Point Unit 1, Ginna, and a few of that vintage are running better and longer than ever.   It's like the story about George Washington's axe.  A tourist asked a park ranger at Mount Vernon if that was really the same axe that G. W. had used to chop down the cherry tree.  The ranger replied that Washington had indeed cut down the tree with that very axe.  Although the handle had been replaced twice and the head once, it was still the same axe.
"To be content with little is hard; to be content with much, impossible." - Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

Offline scotoma

• Heavy User
« Reply #3 on: Apr 25, 2008, 01:50 »