Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Testing for Contamination from Uranium Mining honeypot

Author Topic: Testing for Contamination from Uranium Mining  (Read 15993 times)

childoftechnology

Testing for Contamination from Uranium Mining
« on: Jun 05, 2008, 10:20 »
  Perhaps a bit off-topic, but this seemed like the best place to post this thread, so here goes.
  I'm a resident of a small rural community in the Canadian province of New Brunswick. We're very concerned about what we believe is a uranium mining project, that has set up less than 1km from the nearest cluster of homes. In addition to the possible environmental impact, we're concerned that our health may be put at risk from the various wastes and by-products generated from such mining operations. Of perhaps greater concern is the fact that claims/tags have been found on many local (and private) properties - suggesting a threat that we could even have our land expropriated (a nice way of saying we'd be kicked out), to make way for further operations, should these companies decide to start drilling in the middle of community.
  My question for now is a bit more simple: I'd like to be able to check for hazardous levels of radiation in the air throughout the community, to make sure our health isn't being put at risk. There are two aspects of this idea; the first is to get a commercial geiger counter for my own use, and the second aspect is to perhaps buy and resell small, keychain-sized radiation detectors to members of the community.
  What kind of detection equipment would provide an accurate means of measurement, without having to break the bank? There are two items I'm considering; the first is a commercial alpha/beta/gamma geiger counter capable of detecting anything higher than a safe background level. This unit here is one such example:

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=190226675218&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=009