Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Hello everyone!

Author Topic: Hello everyone!  (Read 7434 times)

411sponge

Hello everyone!
« on: Jun 18, 2008, 05:24 »
     I just came across this website a few hours ago and I have to say that that I am very impressed with the information and assistance that is provided here! I am hoping everyone could give me a little assistance in getting into the nuke field as well.  I have been basically tutoring math for the past 18 years (even though I don't have a 4 year degree, I have a 2 year AA degree).  I can tutor math from basic math through Calculus and Differential Equations and have taken a Physics and Chemistry class. As you can see I really love math but I want to broaden my horizon and start to apply these concepts to real world situations. 
    I was thinking about taking the POSS test but I am not sure if a can just take this test on my own or do I have to apply for a job at the facility before they let me take the test?  Is this even thr right test to take in the first place? :-\

In your opinion, what kind of jobs should I apply for?  I feel like I am kinna stuck in the middle because I feel book smart but I don't have ANY hands on experience in this field.  Should I take some classes that would make me more marketable? If so, which ones??  I am totally in the dark when it comes to starting a career in this field so ANY advice would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!  ;D

Offline retired nuke

• Family Man
  • Very Heavy User
  • No longer a nuke
Re: Hello everyone!
« Reply #1 on: Jun 18, 2008, 06:26 »
Deep breath, young grasshopper....... :D

About all your questions can be abswered with patience, and diligence.....and the search function.

Generally, the POSS test is given by utilities to prospective operator candidates. Search under POSS, AO, AOI for a start.