Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What to expect.

Author Topic: What to expect.  (Read 6315 times)

RVExotics

What to expect.
« on: Jun 26, 2008, 08:36 »
Hello everyone. First time posting here. I'm a science teacher by profession; well, for a year anyway, and am looking to get on at a local plant for AO training. My goal eventually is to become a RO/SRO. I have a friend who works as an instructor there and teaches many of the classes the NLOs and even ROs and SROs take for various certifications so, of course, he has been a wealth of information for me. However, I'm a thorough person, and am looking for as many perspectives before I go in for my POSS testing and interview as possible.

Here's a little background on me: I have a B.S. in Biology, with emphasis in Life and Earth Science Education for the Secondary Level. I am now certified to teach all 7-12 grades Life, Earth, and Physical Sciences. I spent last year teaching all the physical sciences and a middle school science at a rural school here in Arkansas. It was a fascinating experience and an exercise in patience if anything. I actually had never even considered the possibility of becoming an Operator until speaking with my friend. I didn't realize, firstly, that plants considered people who weren't degreed in Engineering or some kind of ex-Navy. So, apparently I'm good to go as far as my degree is concerned. Having the year of professional experience may also be slightly beneficial in that I do have some real world time employing all the theory I've learned in a practical application. Of course it's only one year.