Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Is 2 years for RO too soon?

Author Topic: Is 2 years for RO too soon?  (Read 22041 times)

bheinz

Is 2 years for RO too soon?
« on: Aug 04, 2008, 03:14 »
I was in the Navy (MM/ELT) for 8.5yrs. I have been working at a BWR now for about 2 years as a NLO. There is a license class starting in the spring of '09 and I am one of the ones that can be eligible to go. My question is, "Is 2 years of NLO experience enough to try for LO?" The general opinion I get from the shift managers here is if you get offered go. I have no question that if I focused I could pass the class. But I was wondering if it would be better to get a few more years of hands on in the plant before I try to make the journey upstairs to the Control Room. Or if it really doesn't matter. Can some licensed operators give me their two cents on this matter please? Mainly did the time you had in the plant before your Control Room days really impact your training, or the job you did after you got your license?

Offline Creeker

• Moderate User
Re: Is 2 years for RO too soon?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 04, 2008, 04:18 »
You wrote: "I have no question that if I focused I could pass the class."

I'm in the middle of an SRO class right now.  I had a 20 year background, RO, PPWS, PPWO...  Let me tell you, Frau, either I've drank one too many beers, or dementia is setting in early.  It is really tough, and for me, at least, success is by no means guaranteed.

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
« Reply #2 on: Aug 04, 2008, 04:19 »
success is by no means guaranteed.

+K ( or would that be +deltaK/K  ;) for that posting!
« Last Edit: Aug 04, 2008, 04:21 by HydroDave63 »

Fermi2

« Reply #3 on: Aug 04, 2008, 05:37 »