Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Radioisotope Thermal Generator
honeypot

Author Topic: Radioisotope Thermal Generator  (Read 8457 times)

Brian

Radioisotope Thermal Generator
« on: Aug 17, 2008, 05:49 »
Let it be known that I am just a second year engineering student.

However, I am still looking into the range of the Nuclear Engineering field and was wondering about the radioisotope thermal generators.  From what I have found out so far, they are used in remote sites where solar or petroleum just wont work for power supplies.  But just like anything, I would have to assume that they would need some kind of periodic maintenance, along with the current development of newer models.  So to anyone's knowledge, is there much of a field working and or designing these things?

The main reason for asking such a question is that for a while after school, I wouldn't mind traveling and working outside.

If anyone has other ideas on work that can fit in those categories, please let me know.

Brian

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
Re: Radioisotope Thermal Generator
« Reply #1 on: Aug 17, 2008, 05:59 »
I wouldn't mind traveling and working outside.

Did they leave the RTG out in the rain???

RAD-GHOST

« Reply #2 on: Aug 17, 2008, 09:56 »