Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Need some advice from Officers and Enlisted
honeypot

Author Topic: Need some advice from Officers and Enlisted  (Read 7558 times)

moobyseviltwin

Need some advice from Officers and Enlisted
« on: Nov 20, 2008, 01:39 »
I've been browsing this site for a few months now, finally decided to speak up. I need advice on what path to take in the Navy.

I am a 26 year old graduate from a liberal arts college with a major in Physics and a minor in Math, GPA 2.96. For almost three years I worked as a draftsman/engineer with a diesel generator packager. A year ago I decided to leave that job.

Along with my less than stellar GPA (and a major component of the cause), I have a history of marijuana use. I started my first year of college and have kept it up semi regularly but I have never used any other "hard" drugs. Part of the reason I left my job was so I could end the disposable cash flow and quit for good.

So there are several waivers I would have to get: age, grades, drugs.

Do I have a chance getting accepted NUPOC? If not, what I have read on other sites has been that I would be better off applying to another officer program than enlisting. Is this true? I have suspicion that I would be more satisfied as an enlisted Nuke than some other kind of officer, especially if I could get into Subs. Do I have a chance getting into Subs? What about even surface Nuke? How much does my degree and job history weigh against the waivers?

As my grandfather served his time in the Navy (Engineman I believe) during the Korean war, Navy service has always been in the back of my mind as a nagging desire, but obviously not a driving force. Otherwise I would have not started smoking, and would have gone NROTC in college (in the midwest, that would have been interesting...)

Thanks in advance for the time and advice.

Offline 93-383

• Heavy User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: Need some advice from Officers and Enlisted