Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Prospects for Software Engineers honeypot

Author Topic: Prospects for Software Engineers  (Read 4524 times)

alt.dev

Prospects for Software Engineers
« on: Oct 26, 2008, 05:45 »
Hi there !

I've been doing some research regarding prospects in the nuke industry recently and came across this forum. I must say, this is hands down the BEST one I've seen. Great job guys !

Now, here's my question:

I'm a software developer with a Bachelors degree in CSE and three years of work experience. A number of factors have led me to consider a career in the nuclear industry, mainly : a childhood fascination with physics and nukes, and secondly, due to the situation with the economy, IT spending in companies is crashing, and the outlook for the next couple of years is not so good. The nuke industry seems to be making a comeback and I'm interested in switching into some kind of position in the nuclear power sector that aligns with my skillset.

I have the option to pursue a 2 year Masters degree in Nuclear Engineering and I'm willing to put the time and money into this, but what I would like to know from you guys is : What kind of roles/positions are available in the industry for a person with my background. I was thinking there HAVE to be people specializing in developing / running reactor control systems or other in-house software.

If I get a Masters degree, what kind of positions, other than software related ones could be available for a person with my career background ?

Any suggestions ?

JustinHEMI05

Re: Prospects for Software Engineers
« Reply #1 on: Oct 27, 2008, 09:35 »
If you could come up with a line of code that would be able to tell that you are planning to continue inserting rods if you select a rod in the next group after inserting all the rods before it, you could probably find a job.  :P