Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu ANSI 3.1 Qualifications  

Author Topic: ANSI 3.1 Qualifications  (Read 19204 times)

trschlueter

ANSI 3.1 Qualifications
« on: Dec 15, 2008, 03:41 »
I worked as a Senior Radiation Protection/Chemistry Technician for a Commercial Nuclear Plant for 21 years, (12 years of operating experience, 9 years decommissioning experience).  Upon completion of the decommissioning and the return of the plant to green field, I helped in the performance of the final status survey.  Rather than move from the area, I took an early retirement upon completion of the project.  My question is am I still qualified as an ANSI 3.1 senior technician after 2 years?  I retired in October of 2006.  I have decided to go on the road as a contract technician, and don't know if my qualifications are still current, and what I need to do to get back them back up.  I have copies of all my training received throughout my 21 years of work.  Any suggestions?  With the present state of the economy I need to work badly as my retirement has dwindled substantially!  Thanks for your help!

Offline Laundry Man

• Heavy User
Re: ANSI 3.1 Qualifications
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15, 2008, 03:45 »
You should have no problem.  You will have to take whatever the entrance test dejour is, but besides that all is good.  You won't make them happy that you have not been badged at a facility as of late, but once that is done your okay.
LM

trschlueter

« Reply #2 on: Dec 15, 2008, 03:55 »
Thanks for the info, I put in for a job overseas, but am not sure whether I can put down that I am an ANSI 3.1 qualified tech?  Any advice?

RADBASTARD

« Reply #3 on: Dec 15, 2008, 05:08 »
what plant overseas's are you trying to go?

Offline grantime

• Heavy User
  • Retired Plant Health Physicist CHP, NRRPT
« Reply #4 on: Dec 15, 2008, 05:15 »
ANSI 3.1 is about experience not experience in last X years.  I don't think you will have a problem getting back in .