Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Looking to become an NLO

Author Topic: Looking to become an NLO  (Read 4735 times)

MLG

Looking to become an NLO
« on: Jan 29, 2009, 04:04 »
Hello

I graduated last Spring with a BS in Aerospace Engineering and have spent some time working as an oil field engineer.  I'm now looking to break into commercial nuclear plant operations.  I've been sending out resume like crazy through corporate websites with little luck.  Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
~M

BoilerHP

Re: Looking to become an NLO
« Reply #1 on: Jan 29, 2009, 04:15 »
It is a pain to get your resume past HR... do you know anyone that currently works in a plant?

MLG

« Reply #2 on: Jan 29, 2009, 04:32 »
I have friends who work for FPL but not at a plant.  They've kept telling to be persistent.  I've known HR people at FPL for awhile (college recruiting fairs) but every time I've handed them a resume they just tell me that they'll pass it along and never seem to know when POSS is administered or when classes start.  Frustrating for sure.

BTW, FPL isn't necessarily my first choice but I went to school down here and didn't mind the weather too much. ;)  Seriously tho, I have no geographic preference.
~M

BoilerHP

« Reply #3 on: Jan 29, 2009, 04:37 »
Well I am a recent Health Physics grad... I am basically the same way with Exelon... Helped them with recruiting and had an internship. I know the university recruiters and senior management personnel well. It is simply the recruiters handling the union positions seem to be "slacking". I have also been told about turnover in those positions being part of the issue, due to in part their performance... or lack there of.

I have had a strong connection with people though and have passed the POSS as of last week ago, I am in waiting on an offer. Supposedly I have one, but for which site I do not know. Of course I am optimistic until I have it in writing. Feel free to PM me.