Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Where to start?

Author Topic: Where to start?  (Read 10912 times)

Offline Neutron234

• Light User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Where to start?
« on: Feb 06, 2009, 08:37 »
I am currently a non-licensed operator at a plant in the Southeast. My wife has had issues with keeping her employment up due to the economy. As a result, I am wondering what would be the best entry path into the nuke field for her, since work in this industry is pretty steady as compared to other industries. She has NO previous experience in the nuclear industry. However, looking at some of the posts here, the HP route seems like it might be a decent option but I have questions as to what she would need to do (ie. education/training) to get her foot in the door? I know my company has an outage crew that rotates between the units (7 units total, each with an 18-month cycle), so something of that nature would probably appeal to her. I will continue to research this, but in the mean time, any info that can be provided on this would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: Feb 06, 2009, 08:38 by Neutron234 »
Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first.  - Mark Twain

BoilerHP

Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2009, 09:39 »
Where are you located? There are some areas that have technical programs or Associate degree. I would start off by giving your local community college a check. I am sure some of the other members may have more direct info on this matter. Over the summer when I was in RP, they hired a few techs... a couple from Linn State and a guy from maintenance. Here is the link of Linn States program to give you an idea of the curriculum.

http://www.linnstate.edu/academic/mnt/catalog.asp

Offline Lorrie Henson

• Heavy User
  • Stop Talking, Just Do It!!!
« Reply #2 on: Feb 06, 2009, 09:48 »