Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu New Grad - Need Advice

Author Topic: New Grad - Need Advice  (Read 4314 times)

khaygart

New Grad - Need Advice
« on: May 03, 2010, 01:44 »
I need some advice on how to break into the industry. I am a new grad, and after applying to a great number of jobs, am still having difficulty finding something.

I graduated from a top tier university with my Masters in Chemistry under a prestigious researcher. The lab I worked in was a DOE facility (attached to the university.) My research focused on Gen.IV. super-critical water reactor corrosion (SSC) and I have several publications and an excellent academic record. I also have a few years experience (before returning to graduate school) at Atomic Energy of Canada (AECL) (Thermal-hydraulic Modeling) and Ontario Power Generation (Ontario Hydro) (Simulator development.) I even know how to use MCNP and FACSIMILE.

I think my main disadvantage is being a Canadian Citizen, but I'm starting to become discouraged after looking for work for over six months now, and despite several interviews, finding nothing.

Any advice?

Offline stormgoalie

• Former RP Supervisor, now an Engineer......
  • Very Heavy User
  • Go fast or go home!
Re: New Grad - Need Advice
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 01:51 »
Jump back in with OPG as a grad trainee? Just a thought.
WARNING: Translation of author's random thoughts may have resulted in the unintended introduction of grammatical errors, typos, technical inaccuracies, lies, propaganda, rhetoric, or blasphemy.

Offline tr

• Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2010, 11:36 »