Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Fire Department Chief Officer Wants to Go Nuke!

Author Topic: Fire Department Chief Officer Wants to Go Nuke!  (Read 4681 times)

tfire67

Fire Department Chief Officer Wants to Go Nuke!
« on: Mar 21, 2009, 12:26 »
I am a 41 year old Battalion Chief with Department of Defense in southern California.  I have 22 years of firefighting experience, including Hazmat and an extensive resume and background in the fire service, exclusively with DOD. 

I also have a personal interest in supporting nuclear electricity generation.  In recent years it has become my hobby to learn more about it.  I have developed a deep interest in how nuclear power can serve our country. 

I would like to match my career closer with this personal interest.  I am seeking to a new employer and I'm willing to relocate to many parts of the country.  I am keeping my options wide open to any position, however if federal job series 0081 positions are available, I would logically seek those first.  I am currently a YN-0081-01 and would prefer to remain on a path of upward mobility, however any position is worth consideration to me.

If anyone has any information about firefighting positions at nuclear facilities, I would greatly appreciate reading more. 

Thank you,
Tim

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
Re: Fire Department Chief Officer Wants to Go Nuke!
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2009, 12:49 »
You will find a much leaner organization in a power plant, the operators and in plant personnel make up much of the firefighting force in general. It is not unusual for a DOE emergency department have an agreement to help the community that they are in but the reverse is true for a commercial power plant in general.

Offline tr

• Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
« Reply #2 on: Mar 21, 2009, 01:05 »