Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Going Nuke

Author Topic: Going Nuke  (Read 3937 times)

Fossil

Going Nuke
« on: Apr 05, 2009, 11:25 »
Hey guys, I have been lurking around nukeworker.com for awhile and finally decided to ask a couple of questions... I was wondering what you guys think about the programs that Bismarck State College offers. Specifically the AAS in Nuclear Power Technology program.
I just got out of the Navy a year ago and have been working as an Aux. Operator at a Fossil plant for the last year and I am really interested in the nuke side. I was not a nuke in the Navy though, I was an Aviation Electronics Tech. Do you think I will be competitive enough to get in an NLO position?

Fermi2

Re: Going Nuke
« Reply #1 on: Apr 05, 2009, 11:59 »
Absolutely!

Mike

Offline Nuclear NASCAR

• Electrician
  • Forum Administrator
  • Everyone needs a Harley. Mine's furry with 4 legs.
« Reply #2 on: Apr 05, 2009, 11:59 »
Working on the fossil side will definitely be a plus.  Does the company you're presently working for have any nukes in their fleet?  I don't know anything about the Bismarck program but I don't know that you'd necessarily need it to get your foot in the door actually.  
"There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge."

-Bertrand Russell

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
« Reply #3 on: Apr 06, 2009, 12:13 »
I used to work with one of the Bismarck instructors...it's a good program and money well spent!

Fossil

« Reply #4 on: Apr 06, 2009, 12:45 »
Thanks for all of the quick responses. My company does have one nuke plant. I will definately be putting in for that plant when they open up a position. I am very interested in nuclear power and very excited to hopefully get in.

Offline jams723

• Moderate User
« Reply #5 on: Apr 06, 2009, 09:51 »
I have seen Entergy job postings in the job adds so just throwing this in the forum before they post it.

Entergy is hiring NLO's at two sites; Vermont Yankee and ANO.