Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Returning to HP after 7 years. Any significant changes?

Author Topic: Returning to HP after 7 years. Any significant changes?  (Read 11150 times)

Offline Drive24

• Very Lite User
I'm a former Navy nuke electrician who worked for Bartlett off and on from 1999-2004. I'm an 18.1 level SHP, but want to work my first outage back as a JHP to get my feet wet. I've passed the NE Utilities exam twice, not really concerned about that unless they've changed it substantially. However, it did appear that the Fed was going to change the 10 CFR 20. I've been working in the marine/shipbuilding industry, some coal plant outages, and one wind farm as an electrician, so I'm completely disconnected from the nuclear world x 7 years! Any advice would be deeply appreciated.

Chimera

Re: Returning to HP after 7 years. Any significant changes?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 04, 2011, 10:48 »
I, too, had taken a "vacation" from the nuke world for several years.  When I came back into the fold, I had to redo my fingerprints, pass the NUF/NEU exam and get over my trepidations as to what all I thought I had forgotten.

Once back in the plant all dressed out in my PCs and a meter hanging off my shoulder, it all came flooding back and I did just fine - well, I thought I did but there might be differing opinions out there.

Really, there ain't nothing for it but to just do it.  Have fun.

Michael

Offline retread

• Old, fat meter reader
  • Heavy User
  • Every day above ground is a good one
« Reply #2 on: Feb 04, 2011, 12:15 »
I wouldn't worry too much.  Being a Junior, you won't have too much responsibility any way.  It will give you plenty of time to get your skills back.  Put yourself in the back pocket of a Senior who seems to have his/her act together and you should be fine. After all, it's not rocket science.  Good luck!
In dwelling, be close to the land.
In meditation, go deep in the heart.
In dealing with others, be patient and kind.