Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu STA-21 nuke option high school grades honeypot

Author Topic: STA-21 nuke option high school grades  (Read 7321 times)

brandnuke

STA-21 nuke option high school grades
« on: Apr 22, 2009, 11:13 »
I recently decided that I wanted to join the navy.  Even before i took the asvab i knew i wanted to go nuke. I scored a 97 on the asvab and I will be taking the NFQT soon.  My question however is related to STA-21.  I was never motivated in highschool due to the lack of a challenge and I graduated with a 2.6 GPA.  I was wondering if this will hinder my chances of being accepted into STA-21 nuke option or are they more concerned with grades recieved during  A school and nuclear power school. Thank you for any help on the subject.

Brandon
« Last Edit: Apr 23, 2009, 12:02 by brandnuke »

Offline vagabond

• Light User
Re: STA-21 nuke option
« Reply #1 on: Apr 23, 2009, 12:11 »
If you're speaking the truth, I know how you feel.  I sucked in high school, but because I was extremely bored.  Most honors level classes didn't require much work for me, but I still did well.  Some subjects I was bored out of my skull, and those I typically didn't fare too well.  Now I have the focus to succeed no matter how matter how boring the subject.

In all honesty, it will hinder you some.  The higher focus of scrutiny is A school and NPS grades, as well as ACT/SAT.  You can do a few things that will make your application very impressive though.  In all courses, kick ass and take names.  Do your absolute best to do well.  Try to get into leadership roles every chance you can, including community service.  It will be awhile before you will be able to apply for the program, so you'll have more time to better yourself.  Prove yourself worthy while in the Navy, and your past performance in school won't look as bad.