Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu American Nuclear Society  

Author Topic: American Nuclear Society  (Read 7932 times)

Offline Gamecock

• Gold Member
  • "Perfection is the enemy of good enough."
American Nuclear Society
« on: May 01, 2009, 07:08 »
This question is about professional organizations.....

Is maintaining membership in a professional organization such as the American Nuclear Society worth  the cost.

I was a student member of ANS for the three years I worked on my graduate degree, but now that I'm graduating I'm not sure I want to maintain my membership, especially since it costs more.
“If the thought police come... we will meet them at the door, respectfully, unflinchingly, willing to die... holding a copy of the sacred Scriptures in one hand and the US Constitution in the other."

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
Re: American Nuclear Society
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 11:21 »
Networking is always good. Organizations specific to your specialty would be best.

Offline HockeyFan

• Light User
  • NHL Hockey, 5K road races, and an acoustic guitar.
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 01:28 »
I am a member of a professional society and have been for five years, but not the ANS.  My experience is that I receive information in the way of journals and meetings, much of which is well over my head (PhD level).  The meetings are informative, and the other active members are good people, but I don't talk to them much outside of chapter meetings.  There is opportunity to chair a committee or give lectures, which could help further your career.  Other than that, you could feel good knowing your money is going to an organization that supports your interests.

PM me if you want more details.

Dave
You have to prove yourself every shift. Paul Coffey
The will to win means nothing without the will to prepare. Juma Ikangaa
We didn't have any instruments, so I had to use my guitar. Maybelle Carter

Offline G-reg

• Heavy User