Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Another ex-Navy nuke pondering getting back in honeypot

Author Topic: Another ex-Navy nuke pondering getting back in  (Read 18507 times)

RT00003

Hi,

I was a Navy nuke eons ago (late 80's), now I'm wondering if it's too late to get back in the game.

History:

-qualified reactor operator and reactor technician on carrier plant (only served original 6-year term), also ETMS graduate
-received AAS degree in Nuclear Power in early 90's
-unable to find a job in nuclear field so I did non-nuclear work until late 90's
-received BS in Chemical Engineering in 2003
-went to grad school for MS in Chemical Engineering but got hired as Development/Research Engineer for small engineering research company (coal/energy-related field) before finishing
-company folded at end of 2008
-received MS in Chemical Engineering recently

I was a pretty good reactor operator back in the day but I'm not sure if that is what I should do if I can get back in.

Any advice or suggestions?  Is this a pipe dream?

Offline G-reg

• Heavy User
  • C'mere and chum some of this...
Re: Another ex-Navy nuke pondering getting back in
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 02:19 »
By "back in the game" and "back in", are you talking about going back to Navy Nuclear Power?

My first thought there goes to your current age.  Some crude estimating puts you in your early 40's, which will be a serious obstacle - probably even a nonstarter (but then again there are more waivers than you can shake a stick at nowadays).  The only way to be sure is to talk to a Navy Recruiter.  Better yet talk to more than one Navy Recruiter, in case the first one you meet isn't quite on the mark.

Have you checked on jobs in the commercial/DOE side of nuclear recently?
"But that's just my opinion - I could be wrong."
  -  Dennis Miller

RT00003

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2009, 03:22 »