Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu enlisted or officer? honeypot

Author Topic: enlisted or officer?  (Read 7130 times)

rubicon923

enlisted or officer?
« on: Oct 16, 2005, 03:18 »
I'm a 17 year old high school senior currently in the DEP for enlistment in the Navy nuke program after I graduate.  I am a good high school student (A/B) mostly enrolled in honors and AP classes.  My SAT score was 1370.

My ASVAB score was 97 and I did well enough to get into the nuke program without further testing.  My goal was to enlist in the Navy nuke program for 6-8 years and to leave the Navy with a BS in engineering technology and nuclear experience.

However, recently my recruiter has suggested that I consider NROTC to enter the Navy as an officer.  If I were making the Navy a career, NROTC would definitely be the way to go, but it's not clear to me that experience as a Navy officer would help me all that much in looking for a civilian job.

The other advantage to going NROTC is that I could get a straight engineering degree rather than an engineering technology degree. 

I'm interested in opinions from those in the commercial nuclear industry as to whether the officer experience and "better" degree would count for that much when it comes time to look for a civilian job.  Thanks.

taterhead

Re: enlisted or officer?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 16, 2005, 04:43 »
I think it is interesting that your recruiter would suggest that AFTER you have already signed up in DEP.

This is really a matter of your own preference.  One choice isn't inherently better than the other.  They are different.

Being a nuke officer is no picnic.  You get all of the challenge of being a nuke PLUS the political ramfications that come to play in the ward room.

In my opinion, the two paths you are considering are so much different that they are extremely hard to compare.   

Offline cincinnatinuke

• Chemistry Technician CCNPP
  • Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com