Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Current NLO debating to take chemistry tech position  

Author Topic: Current NLO debating to take chemistry tech position  (Read 2794 times)

vernstlelt

I have been doing research on this site for a long time now.  Most of my previous questions have already been answered except this one.  I'm currently working as a non-licensed operator.  I have a bid to be a chemistry tech starting between Feb-Apr of 2010.  My options are to stay as a non-licensed operator and potentially (only if they take 4 NLO's) go to ILT starting around July of 2011 or be a chem tech.  I will take a small pay cut going to chemistry, but I believe that will be made up using the GI bill for OJT.  Once I am a journeyman chem tech I will make the same as a journeyman NLO.  The chem techs have a much better schedule than operators.  They have a better working environment.  Most of the chem techs have been doing the job for more than 15 years so they must love it.  My dilemma is what comes after that.  Just about every senior manager (VP, PM, assist OM, Maint Manager) at my site has been a licensed operator at some point in their career.  Other than the plant manager (engineer type) they all started as a non-licensed operator.  Therefore, I know what my future might hold staying in operations. What does my future hold if I am a chem tech?  I have been told by several managers at the plant that there isn't much after being a chem tech.  Is this true? 

Offline MeterSwangin

• Moderate User
  • Somebody get decon!
Re: Current NLO debating to take chemistry tech position
« Reply #1 on: Jul 20, 2009, 11:13 »
That is quite true.  Chem tech work is good stuff for the unambitious.  Stable, routine, predicatable.

Wanna go places?  Get the license as fast as you can.  Opens every door at the plant.  Training, Work Control, QA, Maintenance...........EVERYBO DY wants licensed players.