Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu MM2 getting out <1 year honeypot

Author Topic: MM2 getting out <1 year  (Read 5112 times)

Domegren

MM2 getting out <1 year
« on: Sep 21, 2009, 11:29 »
I'm a nuke mechanic just past my five year point without plans of reenlisting. I've been spending a lot of time researching to find out how to prepare for getting out. I always hoped that I'd end up working at a power plant like SONGS in San Onofre, CA primarily for its location since I grew up in Orange County. I'm trying to find out what to do for the next year to best prepare myself for when I'm out. I have plans on finishing my degree in nuclear engineering technology through Excelsior College before I get out. Do power plants actually acknowledge the ABET certification that this college endorses? I've been done a lot of QA work as QAC and QAI. I've started the process for qualifying EWS but will this pay off? Does anybody know if there are frequent job openings for somebody with my qualifications? If so, about what kind of hours and pay would I be looking at? I appreciate any responses

JustinHEMI05

Re: MM2 getting out <1 year
« Reply #1 on: Sep 21, 2009, 01:50 »
Sounds like you would make a good candidate for a NLO. As far as that degree is concerned, yes it counts. Also, your EWS will make a bullet on the resume, but since its less than 2 years, it doesn't count for much except to maybe make you stand out against other 6 and outers who don't have it. So yes, try to get that done.

Good luck!

Justin

co60slr

« Reply #2 on: Sep 21, 2009, 06:50 »
I always hoped that I'd end up working at a power plant like SONGS in San Onofre, CA primarily for its location since I grew up in Orange County.