Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuclear Engineer Graduate

Author Topic: Nuclear Engineer Graduate  (Read 7602 times)

thestellarinc

Nuclear Engineer Graduate
« on: Sep 28, 2009, 02:38 »
Hey everyone, Ive been a member/stalker for a while now but don't post. I'm about to graduate with my B.S. in nuclear engineering from UW-Madison. I have plenty of work experience but nothing related to the field and also my GPA is good but I seem to be having some trouble getting interviews. Ive been applying for operator and entry level design positions mostly through company websites but also places like monster.com. I'm just wondering if anyone here that is already in the industry has any connections and could make any recommendations for me.

Thanks
-Brent

Offline Jeff J

• Light User
Re: Nuclear Engineer Graduate
« Reply #1 on: Sep 28, 2009, 03:20 »
You can also apply for system engineer jobs and reactor engineer jobs on the websites (I am assuming you are looking for a job at a plant).  A lot of the websites will post jobs for engineers at the plants that you might be interested in using the generic term "engineer" or "engineer I" also.

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
« Reply #2 on: Sep 28, 2009, 06:54 »
Nothing that 6 years at sea wouldn't fix ;)

good luck!

Offline tr

• Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
« Reply #3 on: Sep 28, 2009, 11:39 »
Have you tried GE, Westinghouse, AREVA, and the NRC?  All of them were hiring big time in the recent past.

thestellarinc

« Reply #4 on: Sep 29, 2009, 12:12 »
Nothing that 6 years at sea wouldn't fix ;)

good luck!
Ive been thinking about doing the Navy thing but I really would rather work at a plant instead.

Have you tried GE, Westinghouse, AREVA, and the NRC?  All of them were hiring big time in the recent past.
I've tried applied at GE, Westinghouse, and Ive looked around a little bit at the NRC site. I forgot about AREVA, I will look to see what they have to offer.

Offline Jeff J