Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu the lingo
honeypot

Author Topic: the lingo  (Read 5553 times)

Offline TEX-INSP

• Light User
the lingo
« on: Oct 03, 2009, 02:06 »
I am new to the nuke business and new to this forum. What are all the abbreviations you'll use on here?
Techs??
RP? etc...
By the way..any fellow inspectors out there?

thenuttyneutron

Re: the lingo
« Reply #1 on: Oct 03, 2009, 08:06 »
RP:  Radiation Protection.  These are the guys running around with detectors.  They make sure people don't get too much dose and cuss about the messes that operators sometimes make.

Offline cairnit

• Moderate User
  • I love my job........
« Reply #2 on: Oct 03, 2009, 08:17 »
Techs = RP (see definition in above post)

Offline Nuclear NASCAR

• Electrician
  • Forum Administrator
  • Everyone needs a Harley. Mine's furry with 4 legs.
« Reply #3 on: Oct 03, 2009, 10:54 »
http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php/topic,5062.0.html 

Here's a good guide to many of the acronyms.  Don't be surprised by the the number of ones that have more than one meaning.  One trend I've started seeing is that the something is spoken of by the whole name the first time it's mentioned in a brief or document and then the acronym is used after that. 

No matter what, don't hesitate to ask what an acronym means if you're not sure.  For example: "When you say RCP you're talking about the Reactor Coolant Pump, right?" 

Best of luck & Welcome to Nukeworker!

Tom
"There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge."

-Bertrand Russell

Offline Brett LaVigne

• Very Heavy User
  • This aggression will not stand, man.
« Reply #4 on: Oct 03, 2009, 03:32 »
I am new to the nuke business and new to this forum. What are all the abbreviations you'll use on here?
Techs??
RP? etc...
By the way..any fellow inspectors out there?