Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Questions about jobs on the outside for nuke electricians

Author Topic: Questions about jobs on the outside for nuke electricians  (Read 18985 times)

Offline flatlander86

• Very Lite User
Hello,
I'm pretty new to nukeworker, but I've been browsing the forums quite a bit, and have been able to find a lot of useful information on here. However, there's one question that I've had for a long time for which I've never been able to get a good answer, even on here.

I just recently finished the pipeline and got to my first ship, and all through the pipeline, and on here, I hear so much about Navy nukes being able to just run through their 6 years, and have awesome job opportunities waiting for them on the outside, a lot of times even 6 figures. But I've noticed that it's always the ET's and MM's/ELT's who are getting these opportunities. I've also noticed that EM retention is significantly higher than all other rates, and subsequently, our SRB's are significantly lower. It wasn't clear to me just how many EM's are staying in until recently. I put in for SPU, but was declined by NR (despite being top of my class in NFAS, NPS, and NPTU, and bearing recommendations from my plant) simply because there "wasn't a need for EM SPU's". When I got to the ship, all I heard was, "Another electrician? Are you kidding me? We don't need electricians!" So I'm really starting to see the overcrowding of nuke EM's. Heck, in prototype, my E-Div was as big, if not bigger than M-Div!