Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What skills really count for a welder?

Author Topic: What skills really count for a welder?  (Read 9198 times)

bobnburn550

What skills really count for a welder?
« on: Dec 02, 2009, 07:41 »
Hello,

I am a Pipe Welder with 3 years experience looking to hopefully break into the Nuclear field sometime in the future as I've read it's a great place to do high quality work and they're always looking for qualified individuals.

I have done some searching on these forums and started to introduce myself with Sections III and IX of the ASME code and the local union halls who do the outages. With that in mind, I wanted to ask the more experienced crowd what kind of welding skills would they feel like would make a person desirable in the industry? The ability to mirror weld? Knowledge in chrome molly, inconel, or other nickel based super alloys? I've done the basic TiG ER70S root, hot pass, Stick 7018 and 1108 all the way out on thin wall/heavy wall and wide diameter/small diameter piping. As well as TiG 308, 309, and 316 Stainless. I do have a clean background as I've worked on government contract jobs before.

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Offline Smooth Operator

• Moderate User
Re: What skills really count for a welder?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 02, 2009, 11:00 »
Can you imagine yourself welding in a full dress out suit, respirator, high radiation dose field, sweaty as hell, can't touch your face...

bobnburn550

« Reply #2 on: Dec 03, 2009, 12:56 »
Can you imagine yourself welding in a full dress out suit, respirator, high radiation dose field, sweaty as hell, can't touch your face...

I've heard of that and I've heard that's it's not always that bad. There have been a few times I've had an artificial air supply attached to me, though, never a full body suit.

Quote from:  mutant