Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu From house to road tech?

Author Topic: From house to road tech?  (Read 14915 times)

Offline shupack

• Light User
From house to road tech?
« on: Dec 05, 2009, 10:20 »
I'm currently a house tech, ANSI 18.1 certified, 5 years here, 2 years RP, 3 years AuxBldg operator, 2 years Navy radcon w/RCTQS school and 5 years submarine ops. 

I've been considering trading the security of a house job for the freedom of the road-tech life.  Travel is what we're seeking.  After Navy life, being stuck in one spot for 5 years is starting to bore us.  3-4 months off in the summer and winter is VERY attractive.  Finances will be fine, we have other means as well.

I've discussed my thoughts with several of the road techs here during our recent outage and I've gotten a good mix of you'll love it and you'll hate it.  I don't hate being a house tech, but I don't think I'm a 9-5 kind of guy.  We have 3 kids, I know I'll be missing things while I'm on the road, but I miss things while I'm at work 9-5, so I think that's about even.  But I ramble (frequently.....)

We've been pondering the change for a while, my main questions are:

Will I be miserable on the road?

What other questions should I be asking?

What have I not considered?

Offline Smart People

• Rad Engineer/Shipper
  • Very Heavy User
  • I like being around smart people
Re: From house to road tech?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2009, 02:45 »
Miserable is something you carry with you. be careful of the greener grass syndrome.

Personally I love traveling but it wouldn't hurt my feelings to be close to home. Working the outage life has its pluses and minuses. Have you looked into shared resources work first?

Maybe getting your 3.1 quals should be your first goal before going on the road. although your 108 qual and current experience should put you there as a contractor.

sounds like this idea is something you and your wife are on the same page with. that's a very important factor.