Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Officer student flagged on NAVSCREEN, shrink wants to disqualify me: what to do?

Author Topic: Officer student flagged on NAVSCREEN, shrink wants to disqualify me: what to do?  (Read 6282 times)

nvw

I'm an officer student at NNPTC with a TS/SCI clearance and a GPA over 3.8. Based on the multiple-choice psych test (NAVSCREEN) administered during inprocessing, I was scheduled for an interview with a psychologist. That interview was today. Based on "depressive symptoms," the psychologist said he would probably have to find me unfit for nuclear field duty. This is the exact opposite of everything I've ever been told and everything I've ever read on the subject!

During the interview, I admitted to having used my college's counseling services for most of my junior year, to being unduly hard on myself and feeling more guilty than most people, and (like half the Navy) to having contemplated suicide in the past. I have never attempted nor seriously planned to kill myself, and I do not ever intend to. I have never been diagnosed with any mental illness or received inpatient psychiatric care---and I've spent much more time with mental health professionals than the 20-minute interview I had today! While being investigated for my security clearance, the same issues came up, but did not keep me from getting TS/SCI. I have read MANMED paragraphs 15-103(2)(c) and 15-106(2)(i), as well as the DSM-IV and ICD-10 criteria for depression, and I do not think they apply to me at all.