Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Feedwater Pump & Power Output Metering honeypot

Author Topic: Feedwater Pump & Power Output Metering  (Read 6711 times)

russmashpotatoes

Feedwater Pump & Power Output Metering
« on: Jan 24, 2010, 09:41 »
Hi everybody!

My name is Russ Maschmeyer. I'm a design graduate student at SVA in New York. I'm studying self-regulating systems in a class on cybernetics. I chose a BWR (particularly how it regulates its power output) as my system and I'm in WAY OVER MY HEAD!

if anyone knows, I'm looking for the following information for a diagram I'm drawing:

1. for the feed water pumps I need to know the following:
a. range - what's the maximum gallons per minute? I found one that said 22500gpm. Does that sound accurate?
b. resolution - what are the increments of control? For example, when you turn the pump up "one notch" how many more gpm is it pushing? 5gpm? 100gpm? 5000gpm? Can it vary the gpm by units of 1? 5? 100?
c. frequency - what is it's potential rate of change? For example, in a single second, how many gallons per minute can it increase? 5gpm/s? 100gpm/s? Is it slow or really fast?

2. for the power output metering of the plant:
a. range - what's the range the meter can register? for example, 0MW to 2000MW
b. resolution - if the meter is reading an output of 1400MW how close is it to the "real value"? What's the +/-? Is it really accurate, like 3W? Or is it looser like 5MW? This is sort of like margin of error.
c. frequency - does the meter take a reading every second? every nanosecond? every half hour?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated. Even if you know generally the answers, they don't have to be dead on, just plausible!

Thanks so much!

Fermi2

Re: Feedwater Pump & Power Output Metering
« Reply #1 on: Jan 25, 2010, 01:23 »
Hi everybody!