Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu How do I portray failing out of Nuke School positively in a resume? honeypot

Author Topic: How do I portray failing out of Nuke School positively in a resume?  (Read 12231 times)

jdac69

First some background information: I enlisted in the Navy in February, 2004 and started nuke "A" school around April 2004.  I graduated "A" school just fine, and had no problems completing Power School in May 2005.  I chose to go to Ballston Spa for prototype (S8G), got all the way to the end and failed the final test (in week 24).  I was offered the test one last time and I failed it again (barely, I think my score was around 2.48).  I had absolutely no disciplinary issues whatsoever.  I never had issues with alcohol or being late, I simply could not grasp the material in that short of a time period.  My instructors helped me out throughout the entire process.  I have absolutely no issues with anyone.  Everyone was supportive of trying to get me qualled.  I have absolutely no grudges with anyone in the Nuke program, in fact, most of my buddies in the navy are nukes. 
     I went on to cross rate to STG (surface sonar technician).  I am about to get out of the navy after my first tour and am preparing my resume.  I just realized that in the Working Experience section half of my time in the navy is associated with the Nuke program and me failing out of Prototype.  How do I turn failing out of Prototype (a negative) into something positive without omitting it from my resume?  I want to put down my entire work experience in the navy but I don't want them to look at me failing out as a negative.  If I omitt it from my resume there will definitely be questions, and I don't want to leave any gaps in my work experience.  Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Offline rumrunner

• Moderate User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com