Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Nuke getting out (Please read the whole post before flaming)

Author Topic: Navy Nuke getting out (Please read the whole post before flaming)  (Read 7595 times)

mark.phillips

Gentlemen (and ladies),
A little background, then my questions are in bold.  I am a navy LT getting out in the next few months.  I have an engineering degree and my masters in management (not an MBA). 

I have made the usual rounds at a few plants and have a few offers.  However, I am not sure I am ready to roll right from the Navy into shift work.  With that in mind I have explored a few of the Nuclear suppliers (Westinghouse, Mitsubishi, etc).  Im not too keen on Pittsburgh and have been considering MNES pretty seriously in Northern VA.  I would be interviewing for an Engineering/Project Management type of position in their APWR division.  My questions is about the APWR.  It seems to me that AP1000 is the plant of choice in the US and there is only one APWR plant in the works as of right now (Commanche Peak I think).  Would it be silly of me to hitch my wagon to a company who seems to be struggling to gain market share in the new construction business?  Is that assessment of the APWR plant even correct? 

Second question.  I have also had some dialogue with a few energy consulting companies who specialize in the Nuclear industry (supply chain stuff mostly).  I think this would be a good way to get a lot of broad exposure to the industry and build my resume before making a jump to a management type position with a utility (probably my ultimate goal, even though Im still not entirely sure what I wanna do when I grow up).  The flip side to that coin is that I have gotten a lot of feedback that the SRO license is an important ticket to get punched.  Does anyone have any experience with this type of consulting position? or thoughts on the necessity of getting an SRO license?