Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Help getting in, in Idaho

Author Topic: Help getting in, in Idaho  (Read 9324 times)

funkemaster

Help getting in, in Idaho
« on: Mar 22, 2010, 11:18 »
I'm trying to get in as an entry level RCT at the I.N.L. site. I studied for a few months and got my DOE core, as was advised by an HP there I know as one of the main things to do to assist in getting on. I guess my question is does anyone know any contact or possibly anything I should/could do to help me get my foot in the door out there. Any advise or tactics are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Offline trollarc

• Light User
Re: Help getting in, in Idaho
« Reply #1 on: Mar 26, 2010, 01:17 »
I know a guy who used to be a radcon foreman. Ill talk to him about reading your post. Sounds like you have done work to get yourself there so maybe he can help you into an actual job.

bubbasmama

« Reply #2 on: Mar 30, 2010, 09:43 »
Go on the road and get some experience.  Just studing for your core does not make you an RCT/HP and your chances of getting hired are slim.  Take a Rad Con training course will help, but of course it takes time.  The level of respect you will receive will be higher than if you come in off the street.  Many of us don't want to teach you how to read an instrument.  Maybe start as a Deconner.....

DesertRad

« Reply #3 on: Mar 30, 2010, 04:34 »
     Funkemaster,

Bubbasmama is absolutely correct, taking the core and passing puts you no closer to being an RCT than anyone else off the street.
     Your ability to be hired at the ICP (not sure about AMWTP and INL) as a Jr RCT is based on your education, your aptitude and/or experience and the ability to pass the Core.
     Eastern Idaho Technical College has restarted their RadCon program and I am very happy with the quality of people we have picked up over the past few years, so thats an option.