Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Getting hired as a Decon.  

Author Topic: Getting hired as a Decon.  (Read 17399 times)

nu-nuker

Getting hired as a Decon.
« on: Nov 20, 2010, 04:21 »
Hey everyone,

I have never worked in the nuclear industry before.  I have applied at Bartlett for any Decon position.  My goal is to work to become a JR HP then on to a senior HP.  My uncle works for Bartlett as a Senior HP, and he has worked for them for a very long time.  Is there any training that I could do to make myself more hirable? I tried changing my major in college to an A.S degree in radiation safety, but It seems that no one is offering that degree any longer and I have no clue as to why.  Does Bartlett even hire decon techs with no experience? I have been calling Bartlett once a week for the past three months and they keep telling me nothing is open now for staring positions.  My uncle has put in a "good word" for me and his son who is applying with me.  I really want to get into the Nuclear industry.  It looks and sounds like it is what I want to do for my career.

Thanks Eric.

Cliffs:

what does a Decon Tech do?

Does Bartlett hire people for Decon with no prior experience?

Offline redline

• Moderate User
Re: Getting hired as a Decon.
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2010, 04:34 »
Dude, stay in school and learn something that pays without manual labor and without overtime. Starting deconner=mop jockey, if you're in school now you'd be backing up.

Jr8black3

« Reply #2 on: Nov 20, 2010, 06:00 »
Wish I could be a deconner

Sun Dog

« Reply #3 on: Nov 20, 2010, 06:34 »
Many of the brightest have started out deconning or maybe as a fire watch and moved on to other adventures.  Some of the brightest are still professional deconners. Many other folks have jumped into the business with all sorts of initials after their name and have failed miserably.

Morale to the story:  one size does not fit all.  
« Last Edit: Nov 20, 2010, 06:45 by Sun Dog »