Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Experienced Technical Manager (Not in Nuclear Field).  

Author Topic: Experienced Technical Manager (Not in Nuclear Field).  (Read 3810 times)

RF-TM

I am an Engineering Technical Manager with over twenty years experience in the Cellular, Land Mobile and Satellite communications industries. I started out as a Microwave and RF design engineer but my current role involves building cross functional teams and leading them in designing cutting edge electronic equipment. I have a B.Sc. in Physics but have never been employed in the Nuclear sector.

I applied to an opening for a "Nuclear Operations Training Instructor". I feel my background has given me many of the skills needed for success in this position but realize that lack of direct experience in the Nuclear industry will be seen as a drawback.

Can you give me some advice on how I can overcome this perception and make a successful transition? Perhaps by recommending other job types that would be a better starting point.

If you would like a little more detail on my background please see: http://www.linkedin.com/in/gdthomas

Thanks.
Gary

Offline RDTroja

• Site Heretic
  • Gold Member
  • I knew I got into IT for a reason!
Re: Experienced Technical Manager (Not in Nuclear Field).
« Reply #1 on: Mar 24, 2010, 11:43 »