Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Really thinking of taking NLO over SRO honeypot

Author Topic: Really thinking of taking NLO over SRO  (Read 45178 times)

deadspace1399

Really thinking of taking NLO over SRO
« on: Apr 08, 2010, 04:55 »
Hello all on nukeworker! :)
I am a nuke MM1/SS EWS/EOOW/EDPO/EDO with 9.6 years and the Bachelors of Nuclear Engineering Tech. from Excelsior College approaching my EAOS at the end of May.
I am an instructor here at Ballston Spa, NY and am ready to move on to the big leagues of civilian power.

I have researched this great site for awhile looking at the various posts from many, many, many guys/gals just like me who are getting out and ask the typical questions of pay and for the most part everyone is interested in instant SRO.

For myself, however, I have looked through the posts and heeded the warnings of all posters on the site, especially Broadzilla for the instant SRO topic.

I am slated next week for Shearan Harris Nuclear 1 in North Carolina for the POSS exam/interview for a NLO position.
Exelon would like me at the same time for an interview for instant SRO for Oyster Creek NJ.  
Also TVA would like to interview me for instant SRO for Sequoyah 1/2 at the end of April.

NLO job starts at 55,000$ initially which is a bit of a pay cut from the navy as I understand overtime begins about a year after qualifications and eventually I would start making more money with overtime, not exactly sure how much as I have read some posts that state typically 80K+

TVA has stated I would start at 80K and then that would jump to 120K if successful through the program.

Exelon flashed the most money at 105K starting out until success(A big IF I know).  The HR lady for Exelon stated they have an 80% success rate but I don't trust any of that....I wonder about the quality of the TVA and Exelon SRO training programs....