Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I just got invited to take the Poss at Palisades honeypot

Author Topic: I just got invited to take the Poss at Palisades  (Read 5681 times)

michael49022

I just got invited to take the Poss at Palisades
« on: May 13, 2010, 03:18 »
This August I will finish my 2 year degree in energy production.  My college had our formal graduation ceremony two weeks ago where I graduated with honors.  I've worked in the dental field for the last 25 years and have no other experience with nuclear/operations besides in the classroom.   I  applied at Palisades for an Aux Operator in training position and they called me yesterday to come in and take the Poss on May 18th.   If I pass that they said the next step will be an interview.
   I have been reading everything I can on Nuke worker about the Poss tests and even ordered the Arco Mechanical Aptitude and Spatial Relations Tests Book from Amazon.    I wish I had more time to study for it but I also have  classes in Thermodynamics,  Plant Operations, to study for, and a Capstone paper to start on. I doubt that I would ever feel really ready for the test. The person I talked to made it sound like the interview would be at a later date if I passed the Poss test but from what I've read on here it seems like its possible for the interview to be right after the test.  So I am wondering how I should dress for the test.  Has anyone on here had any experience with how Palisades/Entergy does this? I would normally dress business casual with a nice dress shirt and pants for the test and wear a suit to the interview.  Does this seem ok to those of you with experience with this?  I am very excited about this opportunity and want to do my best.  I don't want to blow this because who knows when another chance will come up like this.  I live about 15 miles from the plant and it  would be ideal for me if I got this job.
Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks

Offline crusemm