Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Thomas Edison Degrees honeypot

Author Topic: Thomas Edison Degrees  (Read 20547 times)

em1

Thomas Edison Degrees
« on: Aug 23, 2004, 09:59 »
I am a 19 1/2  yr. Navy Nuclear Electrician ready to get out.  I have a Bachelors in Business and just finished my MBA, but want something techincal under my belt.  Does the Thomas Edison State College Nuclear Technology Degree have any weight with Nuclear plants if you want to be in operations ?(ie SRO,AUX OPS, SRO).  It is not ABET accredited, but I don't want to be an engineer. I can utilize all my Nuclear Power technical credits and General Ed credits from my business degree and have about 5 classes to complete it.

Offline Roll Tide

• Nearly SRO; Previous RCO / AUO / HP Tech / MM1ss
  • Very Heavy User
  • Those who wait upon God..rise up on eagles' wings
Re: Thomas Edison Degrees
« Reply #1 on: Aug 23, 2004, 11:10 »
From the research I did there are only two accredited Nuclear Reactor Technology Bachelors programs per TAC of ABET: Thomas Edison and Excelsior. Get the 2 calculus and 2 physics-based calculus courses and you qualify for Shift Technical Advisor (STA) in commercial nukes. This is what OPS looks at to determine if you have a "real" degree.
We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.
And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.

em1

« Reply #2 on: Aug 24, 2004, 07:33 »