Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuclear shipyard worker with questions
honeypot

Author Topic: Nuclear shipyard worker with questions  (Read 5702 times)

nukeapprentice

Nuclear shipyard worker with questions
« on: Jun 23, 2010, 05:24 »
I have recently finished a Nuclear Test Technician Apprenticeship at the Newport News Shipyard. It involved three years testing Naval Nuclear Reactors with experience in test preparation, execution, writing procedures, and various other things to do with naval nuclear reactors. I have a 2 year degree in science with emphasis in Mechanical Engineering. I am interested in going into the commercial industry and wonder what I might need to do or could be qualified to do.

doctormoo

Re: Nuclear shipyard worker with questions
« Reply #1 on: Jun 26, 2010, 05:39 »
call bartlett but if yu have a full time job id stay were i was these days

Offline Brett LaVigne

• Very Heavy User
  • This aggression will not stand, man.
« Reply #2 on: Jun 26, 2010, 05:47 »
Congratulations on knowing to leave the yard after training/min experience before you go broke! It looks like you have a nice career ahead of you with your training and experience. Newport News Shipbuilding provided a nice start to my career as well, I left in 92.

Contract RP type work is a great way to start seeing the commercial industry and building a network that will eventually land you where you want to be in the position you want to be in.

Good luck.
I Heart Hippie Chicks!!!

mostlyharmless

« Reply #3 on: Jun 26, 2010, 07:05 »
Perhaps you could take a look at the doe sites. Your background looks good and would appeal to the folks at the doe sites.
« Last Edit: Jun 26, 2010, 07:07 by mostlyharmless »

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User
  • "How Many Things I Have No Need Of" - Socrates
« Reply #4 on: Jun 27, 2010, 10:53 »
I wasn't familiar with what 'Test Technicians' do, so...  

http://www.apprenticeschool.com/advanced5.html