Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Nuke opportunities, On carrier Degree?

Author Topic: Navy Nuke opportunities, On carrier Degree?  (Read 11347 times)

RadiationSponge

Navy Nuke opportunities, On carrier Degree?
« on: Jun 26, 2010, 04:57 »
Alright, I have a Bachelor's of Science in Biochemistry, I scored a 95 AFQT on the ASVAB. Just waiting for a Medical Waiver on my face (Titanium screws, Reconstructive surgery).

I want to be a Nuke, My plan is to goto power school and possibly get picked as an ELT.

What sorts of classes on-board are you able to take? Can I work on a masters in anything while on board or is it all online Bachelor's degrees?

What certifications are there? Ive heard EWS and EOOW but what do they stand for and how do you get them?

I plan to go enlisted for a year or so to learn the job and the drop my OCS packet so I am not a retarded Officer barking orders I know nothing about (My buddies from the army call them Overpai privates).

Whats the salaries of nukes while at sea and what not? both officer and enlisted

Here is a link for how everything is looking in the field of nuclear, for ex-nukes and future nukes.

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/04/30/tech/main6447427.shtml

Basically, 100k+ jobs will probably be supremely realistic in 5-7 years.

Thanks for any answers, if these questions have been answered already just say so and Ill hunt them down cause I do not have time right now to go on a forum expedition.

Offline KUrunner

• Moderate User
Re: Navy Nuke opportunities, On carrier Degree?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 26, 2010, 05:07 »
What sort of degree are you looking at getting?  If you want to get your Masters in Biochemistry, you won't get it while in the Navy since it's very research/teaching heavy.