Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Is it really that different? honeypot

Author Topic: Is it really that different?  (Read 5798 times)

twinturbo427

Is it really that different?
« on: Jun 30, 2010, 09:16 »
I am determined to  make  a career change from nuclear pharmacy to energy.  I am a tech with experience in chemistry, handling and protection, shipping, waste management, and performed as RSO when the RSO of record was not on-site.  In a nuclear pharmacy we teach, train, and practice (™) ALARA principles, incident preparedness and response, and top of that must insure sterility.  A previous employer was also the R&D facility for a popular radiation decontamination product that I personally made the test batches and performed the hot tests.

So if a person wears scrubs to work, manages personal monitoring devices, and does area surveys, does the setting really matter?
I do not mean to put to fine a point to this but an area survey is an area survey, isn't it?  ;D

My background (from what I have learned from newbie lurking here forever) is closer to the HP/RP side of the house but I have a definite interest in the nuts and bolts (valves and rods?) of operations too.

So hit me with it.  Tell me if I am missing something.     Resume and exposure records available upon request :)

Offline Smart People

• Rad Engineer/Shipper
  • Very Heavy User
  • I like being around smart people
Re: Is it really that different?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 30, 2010, 10:58 »
It shouldn't be too hard to find a JR HP/RP outage job. Area surveys are area surveys, but job coverage is much different. you need to get your feet wet.

As far as operations, get your resume out there and get ready for the POSS test.

Welcome to Nukeworker
Blessed is the man who can laugh at himself--he will never cease to be amused
Think twice and say nothing..Chiun
I'm as big a fool as anyone..And bigger than most.. Odd Thomas

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User