Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Security clearance question honeypot

Author Topic: Security clearance question  (Read 30208 times)

mclain69

Security clearance question
« on: Jul 20, 2004, 02:24 »
I'm wanting a job that requries you to have a security clearance, I was wanting to know I filed chapter 13 bankruptcy 3 1/2 years ago and still have a year and half to pay on it, will it keep me from getting a security clearance ???

Crazy Cooter

Re: Security clearance question
« Reply #1 on: Jul 20, 2004, 03:09 »
disclaimer: I'm no expert, but based on my research the DoD, DOE & PowerPlants have different criteria.  Here's a link for the DoD's view on financial matters regarding security clearance: http://www.dss.mil/nf/adr/finance/finanF.htm

"Significance of Bankruptcy: The significance of bankruptcy depends upon the cause of the bankruptcy. If subject was not at fault for the financial problems, bankruptcy may be an appropriate solution. If bankruptcy was due to financial irresponsibility and there has been no change in behavior or lifestyle, or if financial irresponsibility has continued thereafter, it is a very serious concern. The credit report covering the period after the bankruptcy may contain clues to the subject’s post-bankruptcy behavior. If debts again build to the maximum of the available credit, this suggests continuing financial irresponsibility.

Filing for bankruptcy under Chapter 13 rather than Chapter 7 may be a positive indicator, as it shows a serious commitment to repay debt."

That's a blurb from the above page.  I have no info as to how the DOE looks at it.

Offline dosetek

• Light User
« Reply #2 on: Jul 20, 2004, 03:40 »
I'm wanting a job that requries you to have a security clearance, I was wanting to know I filed chapter 13 bankruptcy 3 1/2 years ago and still have a year and half to pay on it, will it keep me from getting a security clearance ???