Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu ((Advice if you please)) :))

Author Topic: ((Advice if you please)) :))  (Read 11812 times)

JazSusana1717

((Advice if you please)) :))
« on: Aug 02, 2010, 01:47 »
Hello.
This is the first time i have tried a forum so i am not positive if i am doing this right :)) I signed a contract in March with the U.S. Navy with a job in the nuclear power program...I am extremely excited about the challenge. I do not leave until january 19th of 2011 so i am trying get as prepared as possible. I have an associates degree but while i wait i have decided to take a couple courses this semester while i wait. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what courses would be most beneficial for me.

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: ((Advice if you please)) :))
« Reply #1 on: Aug 05, 2010, 10:11 »
Chemistry/Physics, calc based (if you haven't already taken them) if you want to get an Engineering degree.

IPREGEN

« Reply #2 on: Aug 06, 2010, 08:33 »
Rent and watch "Full Metal Jacket" then be glad you did not join the Marines. Just kidding.

Offline crusemm

• Moderate User
« Reply #3 on: Aug 06, 2010, 08:15 »
Since you have approx 4 months left, and you obviously have some free time, I personally would concentrate on some other things.
1.  Spend quality time with friends and family, and make some good memories to hold you through the hard times
2.  Pick up a copy of the blue jackets manual (or look on the internet) and memorize the general orders of the sentry, Navy and other service ranks and insignia, and if you still have free time, do some math review.  Quite honestly though, the Navy will teach you all the math you will need for the job you are about to do.**
3.  Go run.  Get yourself in shape, if your not used to (I wasn't) the PT can be brutal.
4.  If possible, as the weather gets colder, try to acclimate yourself.  January at Great Lakes can be harsh.

Hope this helps, and Have a day ;D
-Matt