Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Seeking advice... Chemistry Tech or NDT?  

Author Topic: Seeking advice... Chemistry Tech or NDT?  (Read 3031 times)

newcomwer73

Seeking advice... Chemistry Tech or NDT?
« on: Jul 25, 2010, 08:05 »
Greetings

I am in need of advice from anyone currently employed as a Chem Tech or NDT. Or anyone that can offer credible knowledge on the subject.

I am graduate student(Master's) at UNC. My discipline is Applied Science. Also, I have a bachelors degree in chemistry. In addition, I have nearly ten years of professional work experience. However, I seek employment in the nuclear industry. A field of which, I have little to no experience. I am a dedicated worker and enjoy working long hours. Although I would like to work as a Chem Tech, I see more job announcements for NDTs. Thus, my questions are as follows:

1) If I apply to a position as a NDTs, what role if any, does my education play in placement(i.e. level I or II)? 

2) What is the average salary, INCLUDING overtime one can expect at a NDT Level I or II? (Indeed, I realize that someone in LA may get payed more than someone in Kansas City. I just want a general idea.)

3) Of all the NDT programs, would she/he recommend (given my background) that I pursue training as a UT w/TOFD or a RT?

4) Are all techs (RT, UT, LT etc) paid similar wages?

5) And most importantly, will I have a reasonable amount of "away time" to share with my kids?

Thank you in advance for your participation and patience. It is truly appreciated. Have a great day.

Respectfully
Wet-Behind-The-Ears

NukeWorker ™ is a registered trademark of NukeWorker.com ™, LLC © 1996-2024 All rights reserved.